The Perfect Pillowcase

Don’t know what to make with one yard of fabric? Make a simple standard-size pillowcase!

It’s such a simple process- it probably only takes twenty minutes!

I followed along with a tutorial provided by Kay Porczak through about.com

It is very easy to follow along through both the video demonstration and the written transcript.

What you will need:

-1 yard of fabric

-measuring tape

-a sewing machine

-scissors

-thread

-an iron and ironing board

Here is the pillowcase I ended up making!

995898_10151739638474600_1416834699_n

Because I ordered the fabric online ( from walmart.com)I couldn’t have the faces of the super heroes  going from top to bottom( because the fabric was 44 inches in width, not length). Even so, I don’t think it makes that much of a difference, plus-I made it for my boyfriend and he didn’t even notice until I pointed it out and he didn’t care any way.

This is my first time making a pillowcase, so I am glad with the result and am surprised at how easy it was! It also gave me a chance to work on my sewing machine skills, which still need some work being that I only used it twice before this project.

What are your thoughts?

Have you ever made a pillowcase using a different process?

I would love to hear your thoughts!

Sweet Dreams and Happy sewing,

Anissa

Leave a Reply

